Nomination form | September 8–November 7, 2014


The Elizabeth Coleman Visionary Leadership Award was established in honor of Bennington’s ninth president and current director of the Center for the Advancement of Public Action (CAPA) to recognize a distinguished Bennington alumna/alumnus, faculty or staff member, or an individual from the larger Bennington community whose innovative and inspirational leadership is advancing civic and cultural life and improving the lives of others.

The selected individual will be an engaged citizen who has successfully demonstrated the willingness to step forward and take risks in order to solve problems and achieve results in the areas of education, government, the arts and sciences, or industry.

Established by parents of a Bennington alumna from the Class of 2000, the annual $5,000 award has no restrictions on how it may be used. The honoree will be announced in early 2015 and will be invited to campus in the spring to meet with current students, allowing them to connect with an exceptional leader who is affiliated with the College.

The 2015 award recipient was Victoria Sammartino '99, the founder of Voices UnBroken. Inspired by her experience teaching poetry readings on Rikers Island while a student, she began the nonprofit dedicated giving vulnerable young people opportunity for creative self-expression, one year after graduating from Bennington.

In 2014, the inaugural recipient was Holly Block ’80. The Executive Director of the Bronx Museum of the Arts, Block recently served as the co-commissioner of the United States Pavilion at the 55th Venice Biennale. Under her leadership, the museum has not only earned international acclaim but become an engine for community revitalization.

Nominations for the 2016 award will be open in the fall.