Major Jackson and Claire Vaye Watkins

composite image of mj and cvw head shots
Friday, Jan 5 2018, 7:00 PM - 8:00 PM, Tishman Lecture Hall
Writers Reading—January 2018
Friday, Jan 5 2018 7:00 PM Friday, Jan 5 2018 8:00 PM America/New_York Major Jackson and Claire Vaye Watkins OPEN TO THE PUBLIC | Major Jackson and Claire Vaye Watkins will read as part of the Writers Reading January 2018 series. Tishman Lecture Hall Bennington College

OPEN TO THE PUBLIC |  Major Jackson is the author of four collections of poetry: Roll Deep (2015, Norton), Holding Company (2010: Norton); Hoops (2006: Norton); and Leaving Saturn (2002: University of Georgia Press). He is the editor of Countee Cullen: Collected Poems (2013: Library of America).  He is a recipient of a Guggenheim Fellowship, a Pushcart Prize, a Whiting Writers Award; Award and a National Endowment for the Arts fellowship.

Claire Vaye Watkins is the author of Gold Fame Citrus and Battleborn, which won the Story Prize, the Dylan Thomas Prize, New York Public Library’s Young Lions Fiction Award, the Rosenthal
Family Foundation Award from the American Academy of Arts and Letters, and a Silver Pen Award from the Nevada Writers Hall of Fame. She has received fellowships from The Guggenheim Foundation, the Sewanee and Bread Loaf Writers’ Conferences, and was named one of the National Book Foundation’s “5 Under 35” and Granta's "Best Young American Novelists."