2017 Jaffe award winners group photo Rodenberg MFA '12 Wins Prestigious Rona Jaffe Award

Shawna Kay Rodenberg MFA '12 has been awarded a $30,000 grant by The Rona Jaffe Foundation, one of the most prestigious literary awards in the country. 

Bennington Writing Seminars logo and add. Writing Seminars Welcomes New Faculty

Four new faculty members will join the Bennington Writing Seminars for the January residency: Claire Vaye Watkins in Fiction, Jenny Boully and Doug Bauer in Nonfiction, and Safiya Sinclair in Poetry. In addition, we’ll welcome visiting faculty members Monica Youn in Poetry and Wayne Koestenbaum in Nonfiction/Poetry. 

book cover "A Great Meal"

Feast: True Love in and out of the Kitchen, the debut memoir by Hannah Howard MFA '18, is forthcoming from Little A/Amazon in April 2018.

Writing Seminars logo and images of the three recipients PEN/USA Bennington Writing Seminars Emerging Voices Scholarship Announced

The Bennington Writing Seminars, in partnership with PEN Center USA, has announced three recipients of its MFA scholarship for Emerging Voices. The $10,000 scholarship has been awarded to fiction writer Shari Poindexter (EV '01). The Writing Seminars has also extended two additional scholarships to fiction writers Monica Carter (EV ‘10) and Davin Malasarn (EV ‘08).

Image of new yorker logo "The Poetry of Death"

The New Yorker online featured a piece by award-winning poet Donald Hall, MFA Writer-in-Residence, called "The Poetry of Death."

Best American Essays Notable Essays

Five alumni of Bennington’s MFA in Writing program were distinguished in The Best American Essays 2017 for their notable essays published in the previous year.

Andrea Jarrell Publishers Weekly: Spotlight on Jarrell MFA ’01

Andrea Jarrell MFA ’01 was profiled in Publishers Weekly for her “spellbinding … gracefully written” new memoir, I’m the One Who Got Away.

Q and A with Mark Q&A with Mark Wunderlich

Mark Wunderlich, the recently inaugurated Director of the Bennington Writing Seminars, took some time to answer questions about his long-term goals for the program, its literary legacy, and what he’s reading.

Dietland Novel by Walker MFA ’03 to Become 2018 AMC Series

AMC has greenlit 10 episodes of Dietlandadapted from the 2015 novel by Sarai Walker MFA ’03—to be written and produced by Marti Noxon, producer of such hit series as Mad Men, UnREAL, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer, among others.

Fred Hampton Book by Haas MFA ’07 Being Adapted for Film

A book by Jeffrey Haas MFA ’07 on the 1969 assassination of Fred Hampton, deputy chairman of the Black Panther Party, is being developed into a movie by Antoine Fuqua, director of Training Day, The Equalizer, and The Magnificent Seven.