Bennington Faculty and Alumni Score Big with Guggenheim Fellowships

Apr 11, 2008

The Guggenheim Memorial Foundation has announced that five members of Bennington's community have been honored with this year's 2008 Guggenheim Fellowships for their "distinguished achievement in the past and exceptional promise for future accomplishment." Guggenheim Fellowships, one of the nation's most prestigious honors, were given to current MFA in Writing faculty member Michael Paul Burkard; acclaimed poet Reginald Shepherd '88; innovative choreographer Myrna Packer '74; New Yorker magazine editor and translator, Ann Goldstein '71; and professor of organism biology and ecology at the University of Massachusetts, Laurie R. Godfrey '67.

This year's crop of Bennington Guggenheim winners join Bennington's long roster of faculty and alumni who have been selected as Guggenheim Fellows including such notables as W.H. Auden; Martha Graham; and more recently groundbreaking photographer Sally Mann '73; interdisciplinary artist Elizabeth Swados '73; best selling author Kathleen Norris '69; poets April Bernard and Henri Cole; dancer/choreographer Dana Reitz; and author and director of the MFA in Writing program, Sven Birkerts, among countless other Bennington faculty members.

 View the full list of 2008 Fellows.