Institutional News

Faculty Appointments for 2018-2019

Bennington College is excited to announce the appointment of ten new faculty members for the 2018-19 academic year in the areas of video, literature, chemistry, sociolinguistics, media studies, and sound design.

These faculty will teach courses that strengthen and supplement the College’s already rich and dynamic curriculum.  We welcome them to our community.

Mariam GhaniMariam Ghani — Video
Mariam Ghani is an artist, writer, and filmmaker. Her work looks at places, spaces, and moments where social, political, and cultural structures take on visible forms, and spans video, sound, installation, photography, performance, text, and data. @ghanimariam



Manuel GonzalesManuel Gonzales — Literature
Manuel Gonzales is the author of The Miniature Wife and Other Stories, which won the Sue Kaufman Prize for First Fiction and the John Gardner Prize for Fiction, and the novel, The Regional Office is Under Attack! @hrniles





Amber HancockAmber Hancock — Chemistry
Amber Hancock is a physical organic chemist investigating in the photochemistry of organic free radicals. Her work aims to build capacity for environmentally benign synthetic methods by revealing the factors governing reactivity using experimental kinetic and computational techniques.  




Anna Maria HongAnna Maria Hong — Literature
Anna Maria Hong is the author of three forthcoming books. Her first poetry collection, Age of Glass, won the Cleveland State University Poetry Center’s 2017 First Book Poetry Competition and will be published in March 2018. Her novella, H & G, won the A Room of Her Own Foundation’s inaugural Clarissa Dalloway Prize and will be published by Sidebrow Books in April 2018, and her second poetry collection, Fablesque, won Tupelo Press’s Berkshire Prize and is forthcoming in 2019.



Thomas Leddy-CecereThomas Leddy-Cecere — Sociolinguistics
How do social factors shape our use of language, and how does language use in turn impact our construction and perception of society? A sociolinguist, Thomas Leddy-Cecere addresses these questions through his research in Arabic and contemporary American English.





Jen LiuJen Liu — Video
Jen Liu is a New York-based visual artist working in video, performance, and painting, on topics of national identity, economy, and the re-motivating of archival artifacts. She is a 2017 recipient of the Guggenheim Fellowship in Film/Video, as well as the NYSCA/NYFA Fellowship in Digital/Electronic Art. Liu joins the Bennington faculty in Spring 2019.


Brian Michael MurphyBrian Michael Murphy — Media Studies
Brian Michael Murphy is a media archaeologist, poet, and essayist. In his work, he examines how media technologies, from taxidermy to digital photography archives, represent and reshape human experience. @raisedbymovies



Senem Pirler

Senem Pirler — Sound Design and Electronic Music
Pirler is an intermedia-sound artist whose work is an interdisciplinary crossover into sound engineering, sound art, video art, dance, performance, and installation. Her work has been exhibited at EMPAC, Roulette, Baryshnikov Arts Center, Mount Tremper Arts, and Collar Works, NY and has been recognized by grants, residencies, and awards, including the Signal Culture residency and The Malcolm S. Morse Graduate Research Enhancement Award to honor Pauline Oliveros and Deep Listening in 2018.


Natalie Scenters-ZapicoNatalie Scenters-Zapico — Literature
Natalie Scenters-Zapico is a poet who holds fellowships from the Lannan Foundation and CantoMundo. She is the author of The Verging Cities (Center for Literary Publishing 2015), winner of the PEN American/Joyce Osterweil Award, Great Lakes Colleges Association Award, National Association of Chicana/o Studies Book Award, and the Utah Book Award. Her second book, Lima: Limón is forthcoming (Copper Canyon Press). @nascenters



Phillip B. WilliamsPhillip B. Williams — Literature
Phillip B. Williams is the author of Thief in the Interior (poetry), winner of the 2017 Kate Tufts Discovery Award and a 2017 Lambda Literary award. He received a 2017 Whiting Award and 2013 Ruth Lilly Fellowship. Phillip is the co-editor in chief of the online journal Vinyl. @PBW_Poet