Institutional News

I Remain Grateful

Poet Jericho Brown delivered the 49th Bennington Writing Seminars Commencement address.

Photo of Jericho Brown play video
Close Video

Jericho Brown Addresses Graduates of the Bennington Writing Seminars Class of January 2020

Jericho Brown is the recipient of fellowships from the Guggenheim Foundation, the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study at Harvard, and the National Endowment for the Arts, and he is the winner of a Whiting Award. His first book, Please (New Issues 2008), won the American Book Award. His second book, The New Testament (Copper Canyon 2014), won the Anisfield-Wolf Book Award. His third collection is The Tradition (Copper Canyon 2019), for which he was shortlisted for the 2019 National Book Award in Poetry. 

I remain grateful for, and in awe of, my own life.

Jericho Brown

Brown’s poems have appeared in The Bennington ReviewBuzzfeedFencejubilatThe New RepublicThe New York TimesThe New YorkerThe Paris ReviewTIME Magazine, and several volumes of The Best American Poetry. He is an associate professor and the director of the Creative Writing Program at Emory University.