Cultural Studies and Languages Faculty

Barbara Alfano
Director of Remote Pedagogy Development

Barbara Alfano brings a background in journalism, translation, and short-story writing in Italian to her study of 20th- and 21st-century Italian fiction.

email balfano@bennington.edu
Image of Sarah Harris
Associate Dean for Advising

A scholar of contemporary Spanish fiction, Sarah D. Harris's research and teaching interests include sequential art, twentieth and twenty-first century Peninsular film, trauma, collective memory and forgetting, migration, monstrosity, and gender and identity studies.

email sharris@bennington.edu
Image of Ginger Lin

Ginger Lin, a native of Taiwan, has 30 years of experience teaching at the cross-section of language, literature, history, and philosophy.

email glin@bennington.edu
image of jonathan pitcher

Jonathan Pitcher is a scholar of Latin American literature, philosophy, and history whose research interests exceed any one discipline: identity, exile, film, politics, travel, art, architectural ideology, puppetry, and the aftermath of the Boom, to name a few.

email jpitcher@bennington.edu
Image of Isabel Roche

Isabel Roche is a scholar of 19th-century French literature. She previously served as Provost and Dean of the College, and was Interim President for the 2019-20 academic year.

 

email iroche@bennington.edu
Image of Noëlle Rouxel-Cubberly

Noëlle Rouxel-Cubberly teaches French language through the lenses of French film, historical correspondence, and other aspects of French cultural life.

email nrouxel-cubberly@bennington.edu
Image of Stephen Shapiro

Stephen Shapiro’s research on early-modern French literature and culture focuses on aristocratic memoirs, the history of sexuality, culinary culture, and the history of the city of Paris. He is currently looking at the development of a modern gay culture in 18th-century Paris.

email sshapiro@bennington.edu
Image of Ikuko Yoshida

Ikuko Yoshida teaches Japanese language and culture, and her research interest areas are second language acquisition, pedagogy, critical thinking in foreign language learning, technology, and Japanese aesthetics. She is a certified instructor of ikebana—traditional Japanese flower arrangement.

email iyoshida@bennington.edu