Awards and Honors

Rodenberg MFA '12 Wins Prestigious Rona Jaffe Award

Shawna Kay Rodenberg MFA '12 has been awarded a $30,000 grant by The Rona Jaffe Foundation, one of the most prestigious literary awards in the country. 

2017 Jaffe award winners group photo

Rodenberg was one of six women selected to receive the Rona Jaffe, which is the only national literary awards program of its kind dedicated to supporting women writers exclusively.

In recognition of the special contributions women writers make to our culture and society, The Rona Jaffe Foundation identifies and supports women writers of exceptional talent. The emphasis is on those in the early stages of their writing careers. This unique program offers grants to writers of fiction, creative nonfiction, and poetry to make writing time available and provide assistance for such specific purposes as child care, research and related travel costs.

The Rona Jaffe Foundation Writers’ Awards program was established in 1995 by Rona Jaffe (1931-2005). Since the program began, the Foundation has awarded over $2 million to emergent women writers.

The 2017 winners are Aamina Ahmad, Ama Codjoe, Ebony Flowers, Tiana Nobile, Dominica Phetteplace, and Shawna Kay Rodenberg.

Former winners include Tiffany Briere MFA '11 and Mara Naselli MFA '13. 

Photo by Star Black.