Environment Faculty

Image of Lopamudra Banerjee

When natural disaster strikes, its effects are not experienced outside of history: Lopamudra Banerjee’s work brings together issues of the environment and development to explore how the poor experience such events in disproportionate ways.

email lbanerjee@bennington.edu
call 802-440-4718
Image of David Bond
Associate Director of the Center for the Advancement of Public Action

David Bond teaches on the environment and public action. Trained as an anthropologist, Bond studies oil spills and their imprint on environmental science and governance. His work shows how toxic disruptions can fix vital relations with new forms of knowledge and care.

email dbond@bennington.edu
call 802-440-4324
Janet Foley

Janet Foley applies her expertise in inorganic chemistry to study the effects of pollutants in Vermont groundwater, to understand the effects of ocean acidification on coral reefs, and to explore the photochemistry and medicinal applications of gold compounds.

email jfoley@bennington.edu
call 802-440-4463
John Hultgren

John Hultgren's work explores the theoretical and ideological foundations of environmental political struggles.

email johnhultgren@bennington.edu
call 802-447-4105
Image of Kathryn Montovan
Associate Dean for Advising

Kathryn Montovan uses mathematical modeling and analysis to understand complex ecosystem interactions and to discover the potential evolutionary causes of insect and animal behaviors. Her teaching is based on active learning techniques and is focused on engaging students of all levels in authentic mathematical inquiry.

email kmontovan@bennington.edu
call 802-440-4484
Prazak

Prazak teaches anthropology and African studies, specializing in economic development and cultural change in East Africa, using multidisciplinary research strategies to address globalization, inequality, culturally-based ways of knowing, gender-based violence, and politics of the body.

email mprazak@bennington.edu
call 802-440-4381
Image of Robert Ransick
Director of Art and Entrepreneurship Programs in the Center for the Advancement of Public Action and Director of the MFA in Public Action

Robert Ransick draws inspiration from the social and political world we live in, history, and the potential for a future that is better.

email rransick@bennington.edu
call 8024404633
Image of Tim Schroeder

Tim Schroeder applies physical and chemical principles to understand interactions between deep-Earth and shallow-Earth systems. His courses are based on the idea that geology begins as an observational science, but that understanding Earth observations requires a physical sciences context.

email tschroeder@bennington.edu
call 802-440-4496
Image of Susan Sgorbati
Director of the Center for the Advancement of Public Action

Susan Sgorbati, the director of the Elizabeth Coleman Center for the Advancement of Public Action, is a professional mediator and educator whose creative research has led to collaboration across disciplines ranging from dance improvisation to biology to visual arts, as both an artist and a driver of social change.

email sgorbati@bennington.edu
call 802-447-4267
Image of Donald Sherefkin

Donald Sherefkin is an architect whose projects range from urban loft renovations to rural retreats to sacred spaces, extending from the heart of New York City to New England.

email dsherefkin@bennington.edu
call 802-440-4575
Elizabeth Sherman

Elizabeth Sherman is known for her work on amphibians and, more recently, on coral reefs and climate change; she collaborates with student researchers in her study of how animals work — both individually and as part of larger ecosystems.

email sherman@bennington.edu
call 802-440-4466
Image of Kerry Woods

Kerry Woods is an ecologist whose recent work includes long-term studies of old-growth forests, landscape ecology of the Taconic Mountains, and collaborative biogeographic analyses of global temperate forests. His work has been supported by NASA, NSF, US Forest Service, and the Mellon Foundation.

email kwoods@bennington.edu
call 802-440-4465