Field Work Term

Announcing 2023 Field Work Term Fellows

43 Bennington students have been selected for paid fellowship opportunities during the 2023 Field Work Term.

Image of Bennington Commons


Through the Endeavor Foundation Environmental Action Fellowship Program, students are placed into internship positions at nonprofits with a focus on environmental protection and environmental justice. 

In addition to their internships, Fellows develop together as a peer-supported cohort through pre-and post-Fellowship coursework and mentorship, led by Judith Enck, Senior CAPA Fellow, and founder of the Beyond Plastics project. By combining hands-on work experience with education and mentorship, this Fellowship aims to equip participants with the experiences, skills, and capacities to advance environmental justice causes, address complex societal challenges, and become effective changemakers in the world.

Past Endeavor Fellowship internship sites have included Food & Water Watch, Clean Air Coalition of Western NY, Story of Stuff, Cafeteria Culture, Clean Ocean Action, Bronx River Alliance, Grassroots Alliance Against Incineration, Center for Biological Diversity, New York Communities for Change, Rural and Migrant Ministries, Sane Energy, Grassroots Environmental Education, Conservation Law Foundation, Community Action Works, National Young Farmers Coalition, Hudson River Sloop Clearwater, Resonant Energy, and Make The Road New York.

Fellows include:

  • Mohammad Tanvir Anjum '25, Hudson River Sloop Clearwater
  • Fatima Alamgir Apurba '26, Grassroots Environmental Education
  • Alex Brkic '24, Citizens Environmental Coalition
  • Arrow Brown-Ryder '25, Story of Stuff
  • Diana Chipak '24, C-40 Cities
  • Faith Embler '24, Moms Clean Air Force
  • Chase Forch '26, Just Zero
  • Mia Jay-Pachirat '25, Food & Water Watch
  • Peace Kalomba '25, Vermont Public Interest Research Group
  • Shadan Karimi '26, Beyond Plastics
  • Zayda Kellogg '25, Earthjustice
  • Holly MacMullen '25, Conservation Law Foundation
  • Roberta Martey '25, Clean Ocean Action
  • Krystle Niemela '24, Lights Out Norlite
  • Khairul Rifat '25, Human Well-Being Foundation
  • Joe Scott '24, Louisiana Bucket Brigade
  • Beatrix Sherry '26, Cafeteria Culture


Established in 2018, the Lucille Lortel Theatre Foundation Fellowships in Theatre is an annual fellowship program operated in partnership with the Lucille Lortel Theatre Foundation, offering exceptional Bennington drama students the opportunity to work in paid internships at Off-Broadway non-profit theatre companies during the College’s Field Work Term. Participating students also receive mentorship from George Forbes, Executive Director of the Lucille Lortel Foundation and the Lucille Lortel Theatre Foundation.

Fellows include:

  • Aidan Ellison '25, Billie Holiday Theatre
  • Anais Escobar '26, Movement Theatre Company
  • Lorena Fernandez Camba '25, Rattlestick Playwrights Theater
  • Bailey Kasdon '23, Ma-Yi Theatre Company
  • Finn La Belle '24, Repertorio Español
  • Jessica Langham '23, Harlem Stage
  • Parker Lawrence '23, Pregones/PRTT
  • Rachel McCauley '25, La MaMa Theatre
  • Oliver Wessels '23, Amerinda Inc.


What forces and individuals contribute to shaping an artist’s legacy? What happens to all of the objects, materials, and correspondence that artists create during their lifetime? What is a catalogue raisonné?

Through the Creative Legacy Fellowship, selected students are placed into internship positions at artist-endowed foundations to investigate these questions. In addition to their internships, Fellows develop together as a peer-supported cohort through pre- Fellowship meetings, coursework and mentorship, led by Liz White, faculty member in Visual Arts and director of the Museum Fellows Term program. By combining hands-on work experience with a complementary educational component, this Fellowship aims to introduce participants to the nascent field of artist-endowed foundations, and invite the consideration of philosophical and creative questions, while simultaneously offering practical knowledge applicable to future professional opportunities.

  • Eve Vishnick '23, Al Held Foundation
  • Alice Schwechheimer '24, Gordon Parks Foundation


Through the Food Insecurity & Population Health Fellowship, Bennington students focus on various dimensions of population health, with a special emphasis on food insecurity. 

Population health is an interdisciplinary approach that leverages non-traditional partnerships across various sectors of a community to achieve positive health outcomes. As access to nutritious food is one of the key social determinants of health, many of the eight Fellowship roles are specifically focused on food insecurity. Population health emphasizes an ecosystem of health-support organizations across a community. As such, Fellowship roles are situated with organizations across the Bennington community working on various dimensions of population health and food insecurity.

Fellows include:

  • Sinha Binte Babul '25, Southwestern Vermont Medical Center


Through the Iftekhar Entrepreneurial Fellowship, students receive funding and mentorship to spend their FWT pursuing an entrepreneurial venture, such as starting and running their own business or nonprofit or launching themselves as an independent artist. Work may take place anywhere across the globe. 

This opportunity is available to 1-2 returning students (3rd-term through 7th-term) who meet a minimum need threshold and demonstrate strong merit in their application. This fellowship is made possible by Adnan Iftekhar '97, who is committed to helping students design their own jobs and advance their business ideas.

Fellows include:

  • Tristan Archibald '23
  • Yasmeen Jaaber '25


Through the Newman and Cox Public Action Student Fellowship, students complete an FWT position or Independent Study focused on public action, either domestically or internationally, each supported by a grant. Work may take place anywhere across the globe. 

The Newman and Cox Public Action Student Fellowship is made possible by the generous support of the Jerome A. and Estelle R. Newman Assistance Fund and the Spencer Cox '90 Field Work Term Fellowship for Student Activists.

Fellows include:

  • Ade Byron '25
  • Kathleen Castro '23
  • Chuna Chugay '25
  • Malvika Dang '24
  • Samuel De Sousa De Abreu '24
  • Malva Miranda '23
  • Aahir Mrittika '25
  • Elizabeth Pollom '25
  • Alyssa Pong '24
  • Saira Shrestha '23
  • Imara Glymph '23
  • Alisha Bade Shrestha '23