Provost's Office

The Provost's Office oversees all aspects of the academic and residential experience so that we can provide a dynamic, integrated learning environment for all students. 

The way in which we recruit, support, and evaluate faculty, design our ever-emergent curriculum, implement the Plan process, and provide many varied opportunities for outside-of-the-classroom learning enables students to create a rigorous, wide-ranging, and cohesive course of study within a community of caring and motivated peers. We are dedicated to providing the most meaningful and transformative education possible, and (like Bennington students and faculty) constantly review, question, and—when necessary—change our approach to better achieve these ends.

The following offices and programs fall under the umbrella of the Provost's Office: Academic ServicesCrossett Library; the Elizabeth Coleman Center for the Advancement of Public ActionField Work Term; Graduate Programs (MFA in Dance, Music, Public Action, and Writing), and Postbaccalaureate Premedical ProgramInstitutional ResearchRegistrar.

Hours

  • during term: M–F, 9:00AM–5:00PM
  • summer/FWT: M–F 8:30AM–4:00PM

Location

  • Barn 123

 

Contact

Image of Barbara Alfano
Barbara Alfano
Director of First-Year Forum

Bio

call balfano@bennington.edu call 802-440-4378
Noah Coburn
Noah Coburn
Associate Dean for Curriculum and Pedagogy

Bio

call ncoburn@bennington.edu call 802-440-4375
Image of Maurice Hall
Maurice Hall
Provost

Bio

call mauricehall@bennington.edu
Image of Sarah Harris
Sarah Harris
Dean of Faculty

Bio

call sharris@bennington.edu call 802-440-4379
Kelly Hayes
Kelly Hayes
Office Coordinator of the Provost and Dean's Office
call kellyh@bennington.edu call 802-440-4400
Amy Kuzmicki
Amy Kuzmicki
Director for Budget and Administration
call kuzmicki@bennington.edu call 802-440-4873
Meredith Meurs
Meredith Meurs
Executive Assistant to the Provost and Dean and Faculty Affairs Coordinator
call mmeurs@bennington.edu call 802-440-4406
Image of Brian Michael Murphy
Brian Michael Murphy
Dean of the College and Director of the MFA in Public Action

Bio

call bmurphy@bennington.edu

Program Coordinators

The Program Coordinator provides general administrative services and support to the faculty, staff, and students associated within the academic area, including: managing area budgets, purchasing equipment and supplies, managing student workers, coordinating field trips, coordinating campus visits for guest speakers and artists.

Liza Charbonneau
Liza Charbonneau
Visual Arts
call lcharbonneau@bennington.edu call 802-440-4549
Gina Deibel
Gina Deibel
Music; Music Library
call ginadeibel@bennington.edu call 802-440-4510
Valene Gallett
Valene Gallett
Science and Mathematics
call valenegallett@bennington.edu call 802-440-4460
Linda Hurley
Linda Hurley
Dance; Drama
call lhurley@bennington.edu call 802-440-4547
placeholder
Jessica Lynn
Cultural Studies and Languages; Literature; Society, Culture, and Thought
call jessicalynn@bennington.edu call 802-440-4376